Coach Siasia Releases Names Provisional Squad for 2016 Rio Olympics, Includes Mikel, Iwobi


 Ahead of the upcoming 2016 Rio Olympics in Brazil, a provisional 35-man squad for the football fiesta has been released by Samson Siasia, the coach of the Nigeria U-23 team. Aside from big names like Chelsea midfielder John Obi Mikel, the list officially released by the Dream Team VI coach on Friday, included tested legs like South Africa–based goalkeeper, Daniel Akpeyi, defenders; William Troost Ekong, Musa Muhammed, Stanley Amuzie, Kingsley Madu, Kenneth Omeruo and Godfrey Oboabona. Also, midfielders - Oghenekaro Etebo, Okechukwu Azubuike, Imoh Ezekiel, Usman Mohammed and Abdullahi Shehu, and forwards Alex Iwobi, Jude Ighalo, Kelechi Iheanacho and Aminu Umar are on the list that would be trimmed to 23 finally. According to the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) the country’s Olympic football team will depart the country next week for a final training camp in the United States of America ahead of this year’s football tournament in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

 1. Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa FC, South Africa),
2. Yusuf Bala (Kano Pillars),
3. Emmanuel Daniel (Enugu Rangers)
4. Taiwo Abdulrahman (Kwara United)
5. Ndubuisi Agu (FC Porto, Portugal)
6. Junior Ajayi (CS Sfaxien, Tunisia)
7. Stanley Amuzie (Olhanense FC, Portugal)
8. Taiwo Awoniyi (Frankfurt FC, Germany)
9. Okechukwu Azubuike (Yeni Malatyaspor, Turkey)
10. Etor Daniel (Enyimba FC)
11. Augustine Dimgba (Sunshine Stars)
12. William Ekong (Haugesund FC, Norway)
13. Saturday Erimuya (Kayseri Erciyespor, Turkey)
14. Oghenekaro Etebo (CD Feirense FC, Portugal)
15. Imoh Ezekiel (Anderlecht, Belgium)
16. Saviour Godwin (Ostende, Belgium)
17.  Odion Ighalo (Watford FC, England)
18. Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England)
19. Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England)
20. Emiloju Julius (MFM FC)
21. Kingsley Madu (AS Trencin, Slovakia)
22. John Mikel Obi (Chelsea FC, England)
23. Musa Muhammed (Istanbul Basaksehir, Turkey)
24. Usman Muhammed (CF Uniao, Portugal)
25. Wilfred Ndidi (KRC Genk, Belgium)
26. Erhun Obanor (MFM FC)
27. Godfrey Oboabona (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey)
28. Kenneth Omeruo (Chelsea FC, England)
29. Sodiq Saliu (Seraing FC, Belgium)
30. Abdullahi Shehu (CF Uniao, Portugal)
31. Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium)
32. Seth Sincere (Rhapsody FC)
33. Ndifreke Udo (Abia Warriors)
34. Aminu Umar (Osmalispor, Turkey)
35 Sadiq Umar (AS Roma, Italy)

No comments

Sign in to your google account to comment below to stand a chance to win free airtime in our weekly giveaway