Griezmann Sends Barcelona Crashing Out


Barcelona's season unravelled further in controversial fashion after the holders were knocked out of the Champions League by Atletico Madrid on Wednesday, with Antoine Griezmann's double securing passage to the semi-finals with 2-0 win at the Vicente Calderon.

Heading into stoppage time and searching for the goal that would have forced an extra 30 minutes, Barca were incensed not to receive a penalty when Andres Iniesta's shot struck the arm of Atletico captain Gabi just inside the box, with the referee instead awarding a free-kick which Lionel Messi hit over.

Luis Enrique's men had led 2-1 from the first leg but ultimately failed to cope with the intensity of an Atletico side who are also just three points behind them in La Liga and will be buoyed by this scalp as they seek to heap added misery onto their Catalan counterparts domestically.

No comments

Sign in to your google account to comment below to stand a chance to win free airtime in our weekly giveaway